Art With Friends: Snowmen

So last August I volunteered to teach art classes in our CoOp.  Yep, that’s right, the girl who can’t draw worth anything volunteered to teach art.  Crazy!
 .
After I finished freaking out at my audacity, I began researching like a mad woman and found a nugget of truth that encouraged me greatly.  Being an artist, isn’t necessarily about talent, though that undoubtedly helps.  It’s about passion and hard work.  Basically, becoming an artist is the same as becoming anything else.  You have to want it and you have to work for it.
 .
I still don’t fancy myself an artist in the traditional sense (I don’t have the passion to pursue that.) but an art teacher …. maybe just a little bit. Certainly I can cobble together a lesson for the under 8 crowd and what’s more I like doing it enough that I find myself inventing situations to do so.  Such was the case today. One playdate, four moms, thirteen kids and paint, lots of paint.
 .
We started a bit before ten and meandered our way through noon, mix and painting, cutting and pasting.  Even the big kids joined in.  I didn’t really teach as much as simply initiate and what we produced perhaps falls short of fine art but it makes me smile still.
 .

DSC_6566 DSC_6567 DSC_6573DSC_6571  DSC_6575 DSC_6577 DSC_6579 DSC_6580 DSC_6582 DSC_6585 DSC_6592 DSC_6599

Many thanks to Deep Space Sparkle for inspiring this art playdate.
