A Reminder of Mercy

*From the drafts folder from so long ago I can’t even remember when.  Still, each time it crosses my path it takes me back to that day and softens my heart once again.

Traveling out of town on Friday we took a winding back way that we’ve used several times before.  Despite it’s winding-ness it’s usually faster than going through town and ten times as pleasant.  Except on Friday it wasn’t.  Faster, that is.  The usually deserted path actually had traffic.  Traffic that insisted on going the speed limit instead of cruising just above.  Stuck behind law abiding citizens I noticed for the first time a deer crossing sign.  “Well, I’ve never seen any deer on this road,”  I thought to myself in a very snooty voice.  If one can have a snooty voice when thinking to oneself.  Anxious about getting out of town, I was just a bit snippy about the speed.  Finally, Model Citizen took a left turn and I started to hit the gas when up ahead off to the right I spied a black n white patiently waiting for some unsuspecting hoodlum like myself to pass his way.  “Thank you, Lord.  I did not need a ticket today.  Thank you for providing circumstances to check my speed.”  I continued to thank Him for His mercy and moments later a doe walked onto the road and paused directly ahead of me.  She stood not more than 20 feet in front of my now stopped car, looked at me then into the underbrush behind her.  She waited and soon a fawn bravely stepped out to follow its mother.  Both continued their crossing and we continued ours.  The children were ecstatic, “Did you see that?!” but I was silent.  Even now I can hear Father God speaking to my heart, “I care about all my creatures.  You deserved a ticket but she deserved to die even less.  I show you mercy and give her protection.”

newmerciesThe steadfast love of the Lord never ceases;
his mercies never come to an end;
they are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.

Lamentations 3:22-23

