Gathering Eggs

“Mom, can I go out to the chicky pen?”

“Yes, but you need to put on your boots.  It’s mucky and icky out there.”

“And my hat!  Where is my hat?!”

I’m puzzled that she needs a hat at all.  The weather is unseasonably warm but I offer her a cap anyway.

“Not that one!  My hat from Grandma … the one with pink flowers.”

Apparently pink flowers are a must for visiting chickens.  We find the proper headgear and off she goes.

DSC_0438

Out the back door,

DSC_0439

tromping across the backyard,

DSC_0440

through the gate,

DSC_0443

(Don’t forget to shut it.)

DSC_0445

Then run,

DSC_0447

run, run.

DSC_0448

She wasn’t quite as diligent about shutting the second gate and the chickens came spilling out.  Oh well, that’s not what she’s come for anyway.

DSC_0451

One egg?  One measly egg?

DSC_0452

No wait, there’s more.

DSC_0453

…two, three, four.

DSC_0455

Four eggs.  That’s much better.

DSC_0456

Back inside we go.

DSC_0460

Apparently, pink flowers are a must for visiting chickens.

One thought on “Gathering Eggs

Comments are closed.