A Nice Thing and Some Other Stuff

If I could choose one word to describe this blog it would probably be “inconsistent”.  It would not be “stylish” and yet I have a lovely friend who bestowed this kind compliment on me anyway.  Thank you, Sarah.

 

 

To play along, I’m passing it on to Jennifer at Just Wedeminute and per instructions including 7 things about myself.

1. All of my children were born without the use of an epidural and I would love to say there were lofty philosophical reasons for doing so but sadly, no.  I was (and still am) afraid of the idea of a needle … in. my. spine.

2. #1 eventually led me to have 3 children at home, in the water, with the help of my husband and midwife.  Some people say that’s crazy.  Others say it’s courageous.  Whichever one is true, I know that I am stronger for the experience and I wouldn’t change it BUT if I ever have another child I’m thinking about trying the drugs because I’m not as young as I used to be and birth is HARD.

3. I prefer my chocolate dark and very cold.

4. My first real job was scooping ice cream at Braum’s. So was my second job and my third.  Though somewhere in there I got promoted to the grocery side which was great because it meant that I no longer left the store each evening covered in ice cream spatters.  Also, I got a snazzy apron upgrade…. which I still own.  I look back on those days and know that without them I would never have been able to impress my children my mad scooping skillz nor would I know that it’s “sherbET” not “sherBERT”. 

5. Prior to college I had never heard of the Animaniacs but thanks to the girl next door (who was anything but, BTW) by the end of my first year I not only knew who they were but I could sing Yakko’s Nations of the World song.  Interestingly, I still can; except of course that a lot of the nations have changed so it’s not nearly as impressive as it used to be.

6.  I can also sing the ABC song backwards because you never know when you might be called on to entertain the president … or a two year old.

7. My favorite poem is The Road Not Taken by Robert Frost because it’s beautiful and it’s true.  This is closely followed by This is Just to Say by William Carlos Williams because it’s beautiful and it’s true.  Both are the story of my life except in the case of the plums, no one would have written a note.  Instead there would only be sticky fingerprints left behind to tell the tale.

