At the Firehouse

Funny story ~ One day in second grade I asked permission to go to the restroom.  My teacher said, “yes” and I left the room.  Not more than 5 minutes later I returned to a completely deserted classroom.  For the next two hours I divided my time between waiting in the empty classroom and wandering the campus of our little school.  Eventually, my class returned.  They had gone to the fire station.  For years I lamented not the fact that as a second grader I was left alone for two hours but that I had missed out on an essential childhood field trip.  Today that sad chapter finally found a happy conclusion made all the sweeter because I got to share it with the best classmates ever: hubby and our three kiddos. :)

DSCN1077 DSCN1088 DSCN1127 DSCN1129 DSCN1130

When Brother finally got all the gear on, including the jacket, he actually fell over after about 3 steps it was so heavy.  Fortunately, it was also well padded. :)DSCN1140 DSCN1147 DSCN1148

