Readying the Nest

I haven’t been blogging lately because I’ve been nesting.  Yes, I know it’s a little early for that but it occurred to me that I was just barely keeping my head above water with 3 kiddos and that with 4 all semblance of order was going to pack up and move altogether.  So, we’ve taken action.  I’ll be going into more detail as I find the time but here’s a preview.

*We now have a 4 wk rotating menu instead of me trying to figure out what’s for dinner each night.

*I use a weekly printout from Outlook and a homemade “Daily Docket” to keep me focused on what really needs to be attended to each day.

*We said goodbye to the cleaning lady and now the big kids are actively helping about the house.  This has been good for our budget and our character.

*Lego play is limited to the newly created “Lego Lab” and any Lego found outside the Lab is immediately sent on “vacation.”

*Implemented some great laundry time savers.  Namely a rolling laundry sorter and a better way to dry the cloth diapers.

*Declutter, declutter, declutter.

*We moved all sorts of things behind closed doors.  This has really helped limit the amount of mess making Dora does in a day.

*Using workboxes as a way to give the big kids education more attention without becoming too rigid.  The process of setting these up led to a complete re-design of our “school” room that I am immensely pleased with.

*Took an honest look at why we homeschool and what our goals are.  This simple exercise was more helpful than I anticipated in motivating me for the coming year.

*I’m trying to get up before everyone else each day.  This is especially hard after a long night but for the most part has been worth it.

 

Okay, so this is a long, boring list without a lot of explanation.  I’m going to try to write a post for each of these in the coming weeks and I’ll link back here when I do.  Also, I need to tell you about

*Dora turning one.

*Brother turning six.

*Our signing with baby progress.

*Dora’s birth story (surely I can get to this before the next one comes.)

*Pregnancy and depression and making it work anyway.

*Will’s new job.

 

Whew!  I really haven’t blogged in a while, have I?

3 thoughts on “Readying the Nest

  1. Dear Toni, thank you so much for the update! I know it must be hard to find the time for your blog, but I just wanted you to know that I appreciate it immensely. You are such a wonderful person, and your insight and christian motivation is outstanding. And please do not stress out if you can only update once in a while – everybody understands (at least everybody who really counts, lol). May God bless your socks of today – Hugs from rainy Germany ! Lola

  2. You know.. I think you are so cool. I really do! Good for you for finding a good balance of taking on what you can handle, but still realizing the need to make “life” work for you and all of yours.
    I hope this is a great year for all of us!

    ps. now, after I said all that nice stuff…hurry up and get that blog of Dora’s birth written! I wanna hear all about it!!!

    Ha!

  3. I’m looking forward to hearing about some of your organization tips…my house is so out of control and the idea of adding another person to it all makes me want to go to sleep.

Comments are closed.