The Children Were Nestled All Snug in Their Beds

I found this snippet in my drafts folder.  It’s from last year but it made me smile so I thought to share.

~~~~~~~~

Because Sister is 6 you will not think it unusual that she sleeps through the night…mostly.  Occasionally a scary film or monster in the closet will rear its ugly head and bad dreams will ensue.  For that reason I sprang out of bed at 2:34am this morning.  A plaintive, “Mom” came from the room next door and I knew she needed comfort.  Imagine my surprise at finding not tears but sparkling eyes… and a sheepish grin.  “Mama, How many days until Christmas?”

Visions of sugar plums indeed.

2 thoughts on “The Children Were Nestled All Snug in Their Beds

  1. I get to play Santa for the first time ever! Tonight! I’m so excited! I didn’t worry about it so much last year cuz Leslie was too little to know what was going on. I know she still won’t understand it, but I can’t wait to see that smiling little face tomorrow morning when she sees all her loot! Merry Christmas!!!

  2. This year, pulling off the whole stealth present operation becomes a bigger challenge for me each year. These kids and their daggone growing brains!

Comments are closed.