Light

Heather over at Untraditional Home wrote this line while describing how her family celebrated the Fourth.

“And catching lightening bugs with uncle James.”

This made me think of our own celebration.  We helped put on a huge party at my parent’s house.  When it was over and I asked Sister what she liked best about the evening she immediate replied, “catching fireflies”.  I smile still at her answer.  It was not the sparklers, nor the mounds of food savory and sweet; not even the bajillion fireworks but the fireflies that lingered in her memory.  Makes me think of that verse about the lilies.

“Consider the lilies, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin; and yet I say to you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.”

Luke 12:27 (NKJ)

 

image

Nothing compares to our God and His marvelous creations.  Nothing.

2 thoughts on “Light

  1. I neglected to mention that on the 45 min drive home from my grandmothers, after lamenting that they weren’t going to our big local fireworks display, they noticed a huge rain cloud with the sun peaking out and spent the next hour ooing and ahing over “God’s light show” as they called it. One of them pointed out that God’s show was better than a fireworks display and the others heartily agreed.:) God is SO GOOD!

  2. You know, we only have a firefly (lightning bug) or two around our house. Friends called to invite us to theirs to catch them by the dozens. I can’t wait! The simple pleasures.

Comments are closed.