Six Words

Elaine over at Blog In My Eye found this intriguing exercise.  Describe your life in exactly six words.  The idea comes from the book Not Quite What I Was Planning: Six-Word Memoirs by Writers Famous & Obscure which sprang from this story. 

 

Legend has it that Hemingway was once challenged to write a story in only six words. His response? “For sale: baby shoes, never worn.” Last year, SMITH Magazine re-ignited the recountre by asking our readers for their own six-word memoirs. They sent in short life stories in droves, from the bittersweet (“Cursed with cancer, blessed with friends”) and poignant (“I still make coffee for two”) to the inspirational (“Business school? Bah! Pop music? Hurrah”) and hilarious (“I like big butts, can’t lie”).

 

We’re not nearly on par with Hemingway around here but I made an attempt all the same.

 

*Jumped off barn roof.  Bloody nose.

*Took best friend’s guy.  So sorry.

*Crashed car while naming seven dwarfs.

*Almost married the wrong person.  Oops.

*4 credits from graduating.  Left college.

*Found true love. Growing a family.

 

Then I realized the task required not a series of six word thoughts but only six words.  Hmm, my life in half a dozen….

 

All things work for the good.”

 

*****************

I don’t know if you’re supposed to tag anyone for this but I would be interested to see what Leslie would come up with because, being the Queen of Haiku and all, she knows how to say more with less.

I’m also curious about Jenni’s perspective.  Someone who boldly uses words like “troglodyte” and “proclivity” will most certainly rock this vocabulary exercise.

And if you feel so inclined, please play along.  You could even go here and submit your entry. 

Who know’s you might get published.

5 thoughts on “Six Words

  1. Leave it to Hemmingway to be completely depressing.

    This is a really intriguing little bit of funshine! I will definitely be trying it…although I say less with more, frankly, more often than more with less. LOL!

    Love your six…so true…

  2. Nice. I like those “short stories.” I’ve been thinking about my “one” that would sum up my whole life. I hope it would be, “Her life spoke louder than words.” I may do a follow-up after my brain finishes processing this exercise. Thanks for playing!

  3. I tried writing one a few months ago when I found the posting to submit for the book, but it was so HARD.
    As for yours, even though it’s not the most encompassing of them, I like “*4 credits from graduating. Left college.” the best because it makes me want to ask questions.

    ******************
    Yes, I have questions about that one too sometimes. Basically, I made a small major/minor change in my last semester. When graduation rolled around I realized that there had been a miscalculation of 4 foreign language credits. Disenchanted with the education system and already working a job I liked in a field that had nothing to do with either my major or my minor, I said “Forget this.” And walked away. ~ Toni

  4. OK, the barn roof was obviously before my time. I know all of the others except the seven dwarfs. Was that the time we were going to pick up your sister from school and your car rolled forward and tapped that scary girl’s car at the stop light? I don’t remember who it was, I just remember I was afraid she was going to beat us up or something. Ha ha!

Comments are closed.