A Delicious Berry Smoothie

I’ve mentioned before that we like making smoothies around here but only recently have I felt confident enough to make up a recipe on the fly.  This morning Brother ate one bite of biscuit for breakfast so sometime around 11 it occurs to me that he may be in need of nutrition (y’know ‘cuz I’m a really good mom that way).  Anyway, a quick raid of the fridge yields some frozen blueberries and strawberries, Activa vanilla yogurt and whole milk.  Pull some wheat germ from the cupboard and agave nectar off the counter.  Toss it all in the blender and voila!  A yummy sweet treat that’s full of antioxidants, active enzymes, vitamins and other good stuff.  But most importantly, nutrition for even the most discriminating eater. :)

In case you’d like to create this yumminess for yourself I’ve provided the recipe below… at least as well as I remember it.

 

’bout 1/2 cup frozen blueberries

’bout 1/2 cup frozen strawberries

4 oz container of vanilla yogurt

2 big spoonfuls of wheat germ

1 long squeeze of agave nectar (maybe a tablespoon?) (You could easily sub honey here.)

whole milk (enough to almost cover the ingedients in the blender)

 

What sorts of quick treats do you make for your family?

One thought on “A Delicious Berry Smoothie

  1. I’m going to have to try smoothies. We haven’t really done them at our place. I’m pretty lazy, er, exhausted at this point in my pregnancy, so Julia is often stuck with what she can grab for herself – carrots, apples, and the like. She’s also suddenly crazy about pitas. She wants everything in a pita. Mommy, can I have some naked noodles? Will you put them in a pita? All I could say was, why not?

Comments are closed.