Birth-Day: A Doula for Every Woman

I stumbled across this website today and I am so excited about it.

There are many doulas out there looking for mothers to serve and finally there is a good way to connect the two.

In case you don’t know, a doula is a professional labor assistant.  Usually a woman, a doula’s main role is to provide comfort and information to the laboring mother and her partner.  A good doula is worth her weight in gold and sometimes seems to charge that much.  Seriously in this part of the nation it is not uncommon for a doula fee to range from $300 to $700.  Despite her value, that amount is often out of reach for some mothers-to-be, that is why I am so excited about bellywomen.net.  Skimming through the listings I saw many “doula-in-training” posts.  Each of the doula and child birth education certification organizations (DONA, CAPPA, ICEA, Birthworks…) require an applicant to attend a certain number of births as part of the certification process.  This is very hard to do so trainees sometimes offer their services for free or at a greatly reduced price.  While a doula-in-training will probably not have attended as many births as a certified doula she will still know far more about birth than the average mother and according to studies her mere presence will help your labor to go more smoothly.

I have tried to stay off my doula soapbox during this series because once I get up there I have a tendency to be pushy.  At Sister’s Birth my doula was an anchor for both Will and myself and she was the inspiration for my own doula adventures.  Because of that, I am convinced that every woman should have a doula even as I know that is not entirely realistic.  Perhaps I should just share some doula resources and let you decide for yourself. :)

 

The Birth Doula’s Contribution to Modern Maternity Care (DONA)

Dads & Doulas (DONA)

Evidence Based Labor Doula Care (CAPPA)

The Doula Book (a series of studies supporting doula care)

3 thoughts on “Birth-Day: A Doula for Every Woman

  1. Leslie Jean and I really wish you lived closer! :D

    *** Me too! I did see at least one doula on the list in your area though. ~Toni

  2. While I did not have a doula, I had the most wonderful labor and delivery nurse who really helped me so much. I had decided in advance not to have an epidural. But my labor was extremely intense and halfway through (about three hours in) my doc asked if I wanted an epidural. When she left the room I told my husband I thought I wanted it. The nurse asked me why. Getting me to talk about why was important because it helped her figure out how to help me. I told her I wanted it because I felt out of control and so she said “Some women can’t do it naturally, but I know you can. I know you can do it.” And then she gave me tips on how to stay in control of my breathing, my pain, etc. She totally saved me.
    I know a lot of friends who didn’t have someone like this at their deliveries. This is why I would definitely consider hiring a doula next time — someone who could reassure me, guide me, and help me figure out what to do in case my nurse or doc couldn’t or wouldn’t.

    ***Julie, Thank you for adding your perspective on this. You truly had an awesome nurse at your labor. ~Toni

  3. I wish I’d had a doula at Julia’s birth. It was something I didn’t really learn about until after the fact. Since I was induced, I was all hooked up and was told again and again to lie down when all I wanted to do was get up on my hands and knees. I wanted to move and walk and the nurses kept ushering me to bed. Dave was supportive, but like me, did as we were told because the experts know best. Someone like a doula would have been a big help, I think. Great resources to share!

Comments are closed.