Everyday “Ought To’s”

“One ought, every day at least, to hear a little song, read a good poem, see a fine picture, and if it were possible, to speak a few reasonable words.”

Goethe

I saw this quote over at Ann Kroeker’s today. I’ve read it before. It’s one of my favorites. I suppose because I am by nature a list maker. There is something about a list that gives me focus. When I start to stray my lists draw me back to the task at hand. I derive great satisfaction from marking off each item completed and, on the rare occasion I actually finish everything, feel a twinge of regret that my list is empty.

In addition to the quote, Ann issued an invitation. Write your own version of Goethe’s words. The opportunity to create a list? How could I refuse?! :) Here’s mine.

One ought, every day at least, to receive a sticky kiss from a small child, give a passionate one away to a true love, enjoy a good meal in the company of a friend, smile at a stranger, and if it were possible, spend at least a few moments thinking with an open mind.

8 thoughts on “Everyday “Ought To’s”

  1. Love it.

    Love it, love it, love it.

    Thanks for participating and offering such a lovely variation on Goethe’s quote–I’m delighted to learn that you’re drawn to similar thoughts.

    It’s bedtime here, so I’m looking forward to smeary, toothpaste-remainder kisses…not quite a “sticky kiss,” but a kiss from a small child nevertheless.

  2. I think I like yours better than Goethes, so rock on there. And I LOVE the challenge. I’ll work on mine and post it soon.
    I’m also a listmaker. I get it from my mom. There’s nothing like crossing things off a list to get a real sense of how much you’ve accomplished. And lists help me prioritize, too. Not as much online pacman playing when I’ve got a list in front of me. Unless online pacman playing is on the list. Which it never is. Hmm.

    ***Julie – Thank you for your generous words. I look forward to reading your version. Also, I think pacman is a perfectly reasonable item to have on your list. :) ~Toni

  3. Pingback: Again, from Toni « Blog In My Eye

Comments are closed.