Blog Olympics 2007

 Have you seen the carnival MamaBlogga is hosting?  No?  Well, go look here.  I’ll wait. 

… la, la, do, de, do …

See doesn’t that look fun.   What a great way to discover new blogs and develop community.  I’ll be keeping track of my progress here so you may see this post pop up more than once in your feed reader depending on how ambitious I get. :)

 

To get a gold button one must complete one event each from the bronze, silver and gold lists.  (copied here for your convenience.)

Bronze

  • Comment on up to 5 new blogs
  • Subscribe to a new blog (instructions on subscribing)
  • Submit or vote for a post you like on someone else’s blog on a social networking or bookmarking site
  • Add a blog to your blogroll
  • Overwrite old draft posts that you’re no longer going to use

Silver

  • Comment on 6 to 15 new blogs
  • Participate in a blog carnival
  • Participate in a group writing project
  • Subscribe to 3 new blogs (instructions on subscribing)
  • Submit or vote for a post you like on someone else’s blog on a social networking or bookmarking site three times
  • Contact a blogger about guest blogging on their blog
  • Add three blogs to your blogroll

Gold

  • Comment on 16 to 25 new blogs (and over)
  • Sign up to host a blog carnival
  • Host a group writing project (or plan one)
  • Subscribe to 5 new blogs (instructions on subscribing)
  • Submit or vote for a post you like on someone else’s blog on a social networking or bookmarking site five times
  • Review someone else’s blog on your blog
  • Interview another blogger
  • Send a completed guest post to another blogger
  • Write two “pillar articles” or pieces of “flagship content
  • Come up with a system to keep track of your blog drafts

 

So far I’ve subscribed to:

BloggyGiveaways (the name says it all – hosted by Rocks In My Dryer)

ChrisG.com (to get the free e-book on “flagship content”)

BlogInMyEye (I’ve been reading this one for a couple of weeks now and feel as if I’ve found a kindred spirit.)

Conscious, and Occasionally Organized, Ramblings (a delightful mix of serious and funny, extremely well-written)

Polliwog Creek (because her beautiful patch of earth is what I dream of for my family)

Yea!! I have enough of these now to complete my “gold” event.

 

And I’ve commented on these new blogs:

BloggyGiveaways

NavelGazing Midwife

Conscious, and Occasionally Organized, Ramblings

——-These by way of the PhotoHunt

The Burnett Clan in CO

Farmer’s Friends

Getting My Kicks

change.I.am (Isn’t that a great blog title?)

Me and the Other Three

Carver’s Sight

Purple4Me

Cats-Goats-Quotes

I’m Sorry What?

A View from Ivry

Yea!! I have more than enough of these now to complete my “bronze” event.

 

Carnivals I’m participating in:

Works-For-Me-Wednesday and the Photo Hunt

Yea!! These two complete my “silver” event.

 

Hooray! I’ve completed at least one event from each category!  So that means I get one of these! 

Still I’m having so much fun I’ll probably see if I can complete some more events.  You should too.  The deadline isn’t until the 24th.

4 thoughts on “Blog Olympics 2007

  1. Wow, thank you for the compliment. I’ll be hosting a giveaway over at bloginmyeye this week, inspired by the Blog Olympics and Trista at The Pumpkin Patch’s End of Summer Blog Party. Come on over!

  2. Hey, thanks for the compliment as well, and the comment, and the subscription! I will see if I can at least earn a bronze, so I can repay some of this blog love!

Comments are closed.