WFMW – Fold a Fitted Sheet

This is a skill that I guess I take for granted because I am always surprised when people ask, “How did you do that?”

This is your fitted sheet waiting to be folded.  (Not that you would throw your clean sheets on the floor intentionally but if you had a little boy that liked to pretend to be a superhero or a little girl that loved making tents and such … or if you were taking pictures for your blog, then this is the way your sheet would look.)

 

 

 

Step1:  Find a corner of the sheet and slip it over your arm (inside out) until your index finger is in the corner.

 

 

 

 

 

Step 2:  Repeat with the opposite corner.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 3:  Bring the two corners together.  Your index fingers will be touching on the inside of the sheet.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 4: Allow one side to slip off your arm and over onto the other arm.  You should now be looking at one corner (right side out) inside the other.

 

 

 

 

 

Repeat Steps 1 to 4 with the remaining two corners.  You will need to drop your first set to do this but don’t worry: they will stay together. 

Step 5: Once you have two corner sets slip one set onto each arm. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 6: As in Step 3, bring the two corner sets together until your index fingers touch from the inside.

 

 

 

 

 

Step 7:  And then, as before, Allow one corner set to slip off your arm and over onto the other arm.  You will now have all the corners tucked neatly into one another and hanging from one arm.

 

 

 

 

 

Step 8:  You can run your opposite hand down the edges or give the whole thing a little shake to smooth out any strangeness before the next step.

 

 

 

 

 

Step 9:  Lay your sheet on a flat surface like so.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 10:  Fold the top third down (Don’t worry that it’s a little bumpy.)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 11:  Fold the bottom third up. (You’re in the home stretch now!)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 12:  Fold the right third in….

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 13:  and then the left.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Isn’t it lovely? … Ok, maybe “lovely” is a stretch but it works for me. 

 

 

 

 

 

Skip on over to Shannon’s for more Works-For-Me-Wednesday tips.

Also – Sister took most of my pictures for me… Didn’t she do a great job?

15 thoughts on “WFMW – Fold a Fitted Sheet

  1. I think I’m going to go practice! I heard Martha Stewart talking about this one day….but I never got it down. Now I have pictures to help me! Does this mean I have too much free time on my hands???

    ***HA! In my opinion there is no such thing as too much free time. :) ~Toni

  2. That is great! I need to try that. Here’s how I keep my sheets in my linen closet- I put the fitted sheet and flat sheet and one pillow case inside the other pillow case. Then everything is together- I just grab and go!!

    ***Thanks Beth! That’s a great idea! ~Toni

  3. Ok so this is hilarious. Its the second time in my life I’ve been taught these directions. The first was at a young women’s activity at church, I was 15. I guess they’d run out of ideas so they taught us about cleaning, etc. They also taught us this folding trick. As much as I have made fun of that “activity” night for the last ten years, from that day to this, I’ve only folded fitted sheets that way. I’m a hypocrite. What can I say? Anyway thanks for the great pictures, instructions so the rest of the world can learn the fabulous trick we have.

  4. Just the thing I was looking for – those fitted sheets always end up in a pile in the back of my closet. Thanks for sharing :-)

  5. I have the solution to folding fitted sheets! Fit and Fold is an incredible product, took me seconds to fold my sheet perfectly! check this video out and you’ll see what i mean!

  6. Pingback: A Thing of Hate «

  7. Pingback: » Friday Five: Teux Deux List The Nesting Game

Comments are closed.