Doing a New Thing

I cooked a tofu dish last night.  Not so remarkable really except that I’ve never cooked tofu before.  Actually, I’ve never eaten tofu before.  It was pretty good.  I ate a full plate and Will went back for seconds.  The kids opted to just have rice.  The recipe (below) came from a book called Tofu Cookery that I picked up on a whim one day at Wild Oats along with the tofu when I was feeling particularly crunchy.  That was about three months ago.  So last night I pulled the dusty book from the shelf, dug in the back of the cupboard and brought to the table …

Indonesian Satay

Chop in a food processor:

2 cloves garlic
1″ cube fresh ginger root, peeled

Add and process until smooth:

1/4 cup boiling water
2 Tbsp. soy sauce
2 Tbsp. peanut butter (I used crunchy because that’s what I had.)
2 tsp. honey
1/2 tsp. ground coriander
1/2 tsp. vinegar or lemon juice (I chose the lemon.)
1/8 tsp. cayenne

Slice into 1/2″ slices:

1 lb. tofu

Spread on the bottom of an 8″x8″ pan:

1 Tbsp. oil

Pour a thin layer of sauce into the pan, then arrange the slices of tofu in a single layer. Pour over the rest of the sauce. Let sit to marinate at least one hour. Bake at 375 F for 20-25 minutes. Serve with rice and vegetables.

Per Serving: Calories: 138, Protein: 9gm., Fat: 8gm., Carbohydrates: 6gm.

I cooked the rice with my rice cooker that I’ve only used twice so far but am officially in love with.  Generally, I’m not one for single use gadgets in the kitchen.  Most everything I have can be multi-purposed but I bought a rice cooker out of desperation.  See, I’m a fairly competent cook except when it comes to rice.  I can do Minute Rice in a Bag or Rice-A-Roni but plain, ordinary (cheap) white or brown rice is beyond my scope.  For a time I was able to cook rice in a crockpot but for some inexplicable reason even that method has now failed me.  Anyway, we had rice and the tofu above along with some broccoli, onion and red pepper sauteed in a little oil and soy sauce.  Delicious and nutritious. :)  

That was yesterday.  Tonight I cooked steak – also something never before attempted in my kitchen.  Can we say “opposite ends of the spectrum”?  On a scale of 1 to 10 I give my steak a 5 but Will’s dad cooks the best steak in the world so I knew going in that my chances of greatness were slim.  To compensate I rounded out the meal with fried potatoes n onions and corn on the cob (which I later cut off the cob because Sister is about to lose one of her front teeth).

Anyway, all this to say – try something new today.  You just might be surprised at the results.

One thought on “Doing a New Thing

Comments are closed.