WFMW – Mopping Made Easy

Well, easier at least.  I am a firm believer in having the right tools for a given job.  Sure I could use the handle of a screwdriver as a hammer but it is so much more effective to actually use a hammer.  For this reason, I am always looking for better tools to help with the housework.  Especially with those tasks I don’t particularly enjoy.  Mopping is one of those.  It didn’t used to be a problem.  At our old house only the kitchen and bathrooms required mopping but here it’s different.  Except for the few rugs I have scattered here and there every floor is tile and therefore must be mopped.  At first I tried to use my traditional mopping method.  I’d fill the sink with water & soap.  Then… Dip mop.  Hand ring mop.  Swipe mop over floor.  Repeat.  This is fine if the only floor you’re cleaning is small and right next to the sink but the WHOLE house?!?  There had to be a better way.  I longed to get one of these:

 

but the price and the bulk of it nixed that thought.  Then lightning struck.  I replaced my old, gunky string mop with this wringer version from Vileda, added a bucket I already owned and an unused plant stand from our garage.  Voila, my very own mop bucket on the cheap.

 

And do you want to know the best part?  Okay, actually there’s two best parts.  First, it can easily be dissasembled and the parts used for other purposes and who doesn’t like a multi-tasking tool?  And second, now my kids seem to think mopping is fun and want to pitch in.

Check out more tips over at Shannon’s place.

3 thoughts on “WFMW – Mopping Made Easy

Comments are closed.