WFMW – Navigating All Those Great Tips

I love Wednesdays.  I look forward all week to a new slew of tips from all the Works-For-Me-Wednesday participants.  There is nary a week that I don’t learn a new thing (or twenty) but I had a little problem.  There are so many tips at this point that reading through them all in one setting means ignoring my house and childen for an unacceptable amount of time.  What to do?  My husband showed me the benefits of tabbed browsing a while back and this was the perfect application if every there was.  Here’s my system:

Starting with #’s 1-5, I skim through and open the ones of interest to me in new tabs.  I then skip over and read them (opening successive interesting links in their own tabs).  As I finish one I close it’s tab.  When all the tabs are closed, I stop.  Leave the computer.  And do something productive for at least half an hour.  When I do return, I repeat the process with #’s 6-10 and so on.  Make sense?

I find it so easy to get sucked in by that screen, following link after link until my eyes are glazed over and I can barely mumble a coherent answer to my children’s simple questions.  Now I have an end point.  It’s like putting a bookmark in a book knowing you can pick up right where you left off – not missing a thing.

 

If you don’t know what I’m talking about then you need to go hereShannon’s got a great thing going and I’m sure she’d love to see your name on the list too.

8 thoughts on “WFMW – Navigating All Those Great Tips

  1. I use the tabbed browsing too. But never the time limit. That’s the tip I need to incorporate. :-)

    Thanks for sharing.

  2. I really need to do some more of this. I totally understand what you mean about getting sucked in by the screen. Thanks for sharing what works for you. I will definitely have to give it a try.

  3. Great idea! I must confess, since there are so many tips submitted, I just skim and pick out the ones that interest me. Obviously yours interested me this week. :)

    Thanks for sharing!

Comments are closed.