WFMW – Drinking Habits of the Under 3 Crowd

First, I want to assure you that the title of this post in no way implies that my children drink… I mean, of course they drink … what I mean to say is they don’t drink alcohol…  Except for the one or two or twenty times Brother’s sippy cup got lost and then found again after the contents had time to uh, ripen…. and that was accident I tell you, an accident … all twenty times.  I have developed such a case of lostacupaphobia that I literally cannot go to sleep at night until I know the whereabouts of every sippy cup we own.  You laugh but I’m serious.

Anyway, what were we talking about?  Oh yes, WFMW.  My tip involves the virtues of frozen milk.  When Sister was young she loved milk.  Actually she still does.  I didn’t worry if she picked at her food because I knew that she was sure to make up for it in milk.  Brother, on the other hand, is all about the juice.  You’ve perchance heard of the lemonade diet.  Well he’s on the same thing only with apple juice.  Getting him to drink milk is like pulling teeth. At least it was until I inadvertently froze a glass of milk the other day.  I was trying to chill it just a bit but got distracted and it ended up freezing all the way.  Anyway, I set the glass out to thaw and was poking at it with a fork when a brilliant (albeit slightly deceitful) idea occurred to me.

“Brother!”

“Yes, mama.”

“Would you like some ice cream?” (That was the deceitful part.)

“Sure.”

I sat and watched in amazement.  Wouldn’t you know that little turkey at almost the whole thing?  That definitely works for me.

4 thoughts on “WFMW – Drinking Habits of the Under 3 Crowd

  1. That’s a great idea! My son loves milk still, but sucks down the juice too, so I give him V-fusion- have you tried it? It has a full serving of veggies and fruit per 8oz. It makes me feel a little better when he’s not eating much.
    Thanks for the link to FreeStuff4Kids! I really appreciate it.

  2. How funny! I have a 4 year old nephew who is the same way. Except now he drinks “Strawberry Ice Cream Shakes” aka Milk with Nestle’s strawberry flavoring, only enough to make it a little pink!

  3. I so remember the lostacupaphobia — I had everyone looking for the lost cup until it was found! I even would post a reward for the timely return of the sippy cup! What fond memories :~)

Comments are closed.