WFMW – Cook Ahead Breakfast

This morning I cooked a whole package of bacon.  One of the mega size packages.  Now I realize that for some of you with large families this is not any great thing but around here the kids and I consume 3 to 5 pieces max.  I cooked the rest of the package because tomorrow I may not feel like cooking breakfast or this afternoon the kids may want a quick snack and it will be much easier for them to pull out a piece of bacon to munch on than for me to make a pb&j sandwich.  I do this with sausage too.  One day, one mess – works for me.

Another great time/mess saver are breakfast casseroles.  They can be made in a casserole dish if you are expecting a crowd or in individual ramikins for use throughout the month.  Make ahead, freeze and enjoy at your leisure.  Here are two delightful recipies from the kitchen of Aunt T. in Wichita.

GREEN CHILI BREAKFAST CASSEROLE

1 lb. Sausage, browned and drained
6 eggs
2 cups milk
2 slices cubed bread
1 can diced green chiles
1 tsp salt
½ tsp pepper
1 tsp. dry mustard
2 cups grated cheddar cheese
Beat eggs; add milk, chiles, salt pepper and mustard.
Add bread cubes and stir well. Add cheese and sausage. Place in sprayed 9×13 inch pan.
Refrigerate overnight. Bake 45 minutes at 350 degrees. Add a bit more grated cheese to top and bake just until melted. Let stand 5 minutes before serving. Can serve with salsa.

FRENCH TOAST CASSEROLE
1 loaf French bread cut into 1″ cubes (10 cups)
8 eggs
3 cups milk
4 tsps. sugar
1 tsp. vanilla extract
3/4 tsp salt, optional
TOPPING:
2 Tblsp butter or margerine, cubed
3 Tblsp. Sugar
2 tsps. ground cinnamon
Place bread cubes in a greased 13 X 9″ pan. In a mixing bowl, beat eggs, milk and sugar, vanilla and salt. Pour over bread in pan. Cover and refrigerate for 8 hours or overnight. Remove from refrigerator 30 minutes before baking. Dot with butter. Combine sugar and cinnamon; sprinkle over the top. Cover and bake at 350 for 45-50 minutes or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean. Let stand for 5 minutes. Serve with syrup or powdered sugar if desired.

3 thoughts on “WFMW – Cook Ahead Breakfast

  1. I like the idea of doing the breakfast casseroles in ramekins and freezing them. I assume you cook them all first, and then freeze them. How do you reheat them after they’ve been frozen?

    Thanks for the great idea.

  2. Actually, I freeze them uncooked. The ramekins are the same ones I use to bake custard so they are oven safe. As for thawing, you can either sit them down in the fridge the night before you are going to use them or up the oven temp. and add a bit more to the cooking time.

  3. I’ve made French Toast ahead of time for my kids to enjoy during the week. Challah bread cut really thick is yummy. But I never thought of cubing French bread and making it a casserole rather than individual pieces! What a brilliant idea!

Comments are closed.