Photo Hunt – Theme: Soft

I know, I know.  It’s not a very exciting picture.  Kind of lame really as far as pictures go but it is ‘soft’.  I promise.  In case you hadn’t figured it out yet this is a bed.  More specifically it is my our bed.  And by ‘our’ bed I mean that each night it is occupied by Sister, Brother, Me & Will in that order from left to right.  It’s actually two queen size beds pushed together in what I call a mega-king configuration.  You see despite the fact that my children are 5 and 2 they still sleep with us and we are nothing if not practical.  Sleep is my one great indulgence – besides chocolate and internet shopping and …. okay, I have many great indulgences but sleep is one of them.  To that end on our bed frame sits a very expensive mattress with a very thick pillowtop covered by 1200 thread count sheets and two of the best snuggle up in a cocoon blankets EVER.  I have limited myself to two pillows but only because Will insisted that since he paid for the aforementioned very expensive bed the least I could do was make a little room for him in it.  Picky, picky.  Anyway, when you go to all this trouble to make such a nest you don’t really want to share it.  Especially not with munchkins who will kick their covers off before you can say, “sleep tight”, don’t use pillows at all, and occasionally sport the very attractive leaky diaper.  Still, one wants to be a good parent.  Some people say letting our kids sleep with us means that we are “soft” but I prefer to think we are instilling in them a sense of security – a knowledge that we care about them and that we want them near. They’ll grow up soon enough and want their own spaces.  For now I’ll keep them close AND have my sleep.

 

Did you play?

16 thoughts on “Photo Hunt – Theme: Soft

  1. I should recommend this arrangement to my friend. She is having a hard time deciding what to do about her family bed situation. This seems like a win/win.

  2. How resourceful putting two Queen sized beds together — keep snuggling — they grow up way too fast. Have a warm and snuggly weekend too.

  3. Thanks for the visit.
    1200 thread count sheets…. I didn’t know they made them that high… they must feel like pure butter.

  4. It sure looks like a very soft bed. I can only sleep with one pillow-some times I even put that away…not sure why.
    Wonderful picture for this week’s theme of soft.

    Have a great weekend.

  5. I’m all about having a comfy soft bed, we just bought a new one ourselves, a sleep comfort bed…my number seems to be in the range of 45! lol And high count sheets are a must!! Good take on the theme!

    Happy Saturday!

  6. Pingback: This Simple Life » Morning Memories

  7. 1200?!? Wow, and I thought my 600ct sheets were de-lux! We are planning on a double queen bed too. And here I thought I was being original!

  8. Pingback: This Simple Life » Blog Archive » Fear, Trust, and a Little Night Music

Comments are closed.