WFMW – Order Ahead Library Books

I love books!  Fiction or non it doesn’t matter.  I don’t like libraries.  Well, that’s not exactly true.  More accurately stated I prefer the casual atmosphere of a well-laid out bookstore to the stuffy, hush hush rows of the library.  (and you can’t get good coffee in most libraries)  Despite this preference my pocketbook doesn’t allow me to “check out” every book in the bookstore nor would my home have room for them if I could.  So lately, I have gotten in the habit of “buying” them online.  I browse the bookstores.  Find what I like.  Then go home and look them up on our local library system.  With just a few clicks of the mouse I can have any book sent to the library close to my house.  We live in a relatively large city so the library collection is extensive but even if they don’t have it locally there’s always interlibrary loan.  I’ve never not found the book I was looking for.  Another benefit of this method is that every library has a hold shelf for these reserved books.  At our library the hold shelf is directly across from the children’s section.  My kids can browse for their weekly books while I pick up mine.  All in all a trip to the library takes about 20 minutes and with two little ones that works for me.

 

Check out more Wednesday tips over at Rocks In My Dryer

2 thoughts on “WFMW – Order Ahead Library Books

  1. I love books too! I usually browse online to figure out what I want, then go to a site like Bookcrossing.com or PaperBackSwap.com to actually get the books. They are GREAT resources!

Comments are closed.