Advent Stockings 10 & 11, Dates & a Dog

Advent11#10 “Make a Christmas mobile.”  This one Sister & I did while Brother took a nap.  I found a not so hard origami tree which Sister decorated then we cut “ornaments” out of some ChristmasMobilescrapbook paper and used ribbon to hang them.  Simple.  Fun.  For now we’re using the light in the living room as a display hook.

 

Advent10#11 “Have some hot chocolate with marshmallows.”   Finally, an easy one. :) Sister wanted to do some Christmas shopping so she convinced Will to take her on a Daddy/Daughter date to do so.  Knowing I was not going to be in the mood to make hot chocolate when they got back I subtly suggested (Okay, it wasn’t really subtle.) … I told Will to swing by Starbucks and get the child a beverage.  Brother and I were not invited on the date so we had our own.  At Mardel, Brother made a beeline for the trains and airplanes and happily played while I browsed nearby for Christmas gifts.  I thought for sure there would be some protests when I was ready to go to the other side of the store but not so.  He contentedly tagged along carrying my purchases as best he could – putting them down when we stopped and dutifully picking them back up again as we moved on.  I couldn’t help thinking, “What a wonderful helper.  He is going to make his shopping wife very happy someday.”

As we are leaving, the phone rings with a call from Will.

“Where are you?”

“Just leaving Mardel, why?”

“No reason [pause]… um, just don’t open the garage door when you get home  [pause] because you might let the dog out.” 

Just a note for those of you who haven’t been keeping track…. WE DON’T HAVE A DOG.”  I can’t leave those two alone for a minute. :)  The rest of the conversation was basically an adult version of, “But, Mom! She just followed me home…. can I keep her?”  Of course we will post some ‘Lost Dog’ signs and check with the Animal Shelter but she has no tag and she is a very nice dog… “Hmm, we’ll see.”

One thought on “Advent Stockings 10 & 11, Dates & a Dog

  1. Pingback: This Simple Life » Animal Rescue

Comments are closed.